Start Here. Succeed Anywhere.

The mission of the Independence Community School District (ICSD) is to educate students to be lifelong learners. ICSD’s goal is to create a climate for their students to strive to become effective communicators and problem solvers, as well as responsible and productive as they mature into adulthood.

ICSD is located in Northeast Iowa along Highway 20 & 150 within a 30-45 minute drive to Waterloo/Cedar Falls or Cedar Rapids. We are a PreK-12 district, serving nearly 1400 students in and around the communities of Independence, Rowley, and Brandon. Our Early Childhood Center educates our youngest children, 4-year-olds in PreK. Kindergarten through sixth graders are located at our two elementary schools, East Elementary (K-2) and West Elementary (3-6). Students finish their educational career at our Junior/Senior High.

We are the MUSTANGS and compete in the WaMac Conference, consisting of 12 mid-size schools in central Iowa, including; Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Clear Creek Amana, Grinnell, Independence, Marion, Mount Vernon, Solon, South Tama, Vinton-Shellsburg, West Delaware, and Williamsburg.

ICSD's mascot, Champ, can be seen at a variety of home and away activities. Champ is truly representative of our students and their endeavor for excellence. Students practice for many hours to be the best within the conference and at the state level. Win or lose, our students show what it means to be a "Champ." Because of this, we encourage our students to participate in our wide variety of athleticsfine arts, and clubs & organizations.

Lori Schaul

Director of Human Resources

Phone: 319-332-0454
Email: lschaul@indeek12.org

Laura Morine

Director of Finance

Phone: 319-332-0458
Email: lmorine@indeek12.org

Erin Burmeister

Director of School Improvement, Homeless Liaison

Phone: 319-332-0459
Email: eburmeister@indeek12.org

Stephen Noyes

Director of Technology

Phone: 319-332-0719
Email: snoyes@indeek12.org

Carrie Cusher

Accounts Payable Secretary

Phone: 319-332-0452
Email: ccusher@indeek12.org

Shawn Thill

Payroll Secretary

Phone: 319-332-0453
Email: sthill@indeek12.org