Board Approves 2.87% Raise to Teachers’; Trademark Licensing Terms Approved at May Regular Board Meeting

June 17, 2015 (Independence, IA) – The Independence Community School District Board of Education met at the Administration Building for their regular May meeting on Monday, May 18,2015.

With May being school board recognition month, Superintendent Peterson honored the board of directors for helping make the ICSD district the best it can be.

The following people were thanked for donating their time and knowledge to students: First Presbyterian Church for donating clothes to the nurse’s office at East Elementary; Scott Kinseth for promoting outdoor activities; Joe Olsen for reading to students; Jim Roper for showing students learning is fun and Bart Campbell for his donation for the State Math Bee.

Dr. Blaidsdell recognized Ava Blaker for placing 3rd in the Old Creamery theatre Kids Writing Contest.

Seven students were recognized for reaching the state level for the Iowa Reading Association Creative Writing and Poetry contest: Aila Anderson, Sydney Schwartz, Courtney Kelly, Dominic Black, Josie Fischels, Shane Eder, Lily Neumann. Creative Writing Contest State Qualifiers included: Garret Hoglan, Ava Blaker, Ryan Goldenstein, Lily Giddings, Jazlyn Smith and Holly Cooksley. Jackie Berryhill and Megan Rawlins sponsored these students.

Principal Hupke recognized the 6th grade Future Problem Solving team for placing 5th for their packet and 6th for their skit at the Future Problem Solving State Bowl.; and Spencer Campbell, London Stoner, Jacob Elzey, Cameron Ridder and Tyler Osborne for qualifying for the State Math Bee. Jackie Berryhill sponsored these students.

Principal Howard recognized Grace Bertelli, Cindy Huang, Regan Liss, Kirstie Martin and Karlie Michael for finishing 14th at the Iowa High Scholl State Battle of the Books Competition. Megan Rawlins sponsored these students; Adam Goedken and Ross Thedens for being recognized as National Merit Scholars; and Brynn Martin as a Borlaug Scholar for World Food Prize. Rachel Emig and Megan Rawlins sponsored Brynn.

Mr. Howard recognized the FFA students on their contest achievements this year. Participants were: Conner Horn, Tristan Schminkey, Leah Rosauer, Syd Etten, Eric Lympus, Haylee Lau, Leah Rosauer, Jarret Orr and Emily Robinson. Rachel Emig sponsored these students.

Mrs. Budzine and Mr. McBride reported on the success of the HOPE group. They presented a check for $400 to the district for the mentoring program and a check for $500 to the AV Tech Club.

Ben Kelly, Jacob Burns and Brian Smith spoke about the Virtual Reality Educational Pathfinders course they are currently taking with Mrs. Rawlins.  The board asked Mrs. Rawlins about how to expand the course to other students for credit.

Dr. Blaisdell, Mr. Hupke and Mr. Howard presented Iowa Assessment Information and student learning goals for each building for the 2015-2016 school year.

Dr. Blaisdell, Mr. Hupke and Mr. Howard presented their perspective buildings’ bullying and harassment prevention goals for 2015-2016.

Under old business, the board approved the Independence Community School District Trademark License Agreement with an upfront annual fee of $100.00, plus a small percentage of sales in excess of $1,000 per year for companies desiring to license ICSD’s trademarks, such as logos.  The board acknowledged exceptions for the Booster Club and other school related organizations that use ICSD’s logos when selling merchandize.  Board Member Eric Smith suggested that the board develop a policy on trademark licensing to set forth the requirements and exceptions for the licensing agreement.  The board agreed with Mr. Smith’s recommendation and the administration will work on a policy for board consideration and implementation at a future meeting.

The board also approved an Agreement for Participating in the Prairies to Schools Program to set aside an area to the North of the American Trotter Trail for native prairie grass at no cost to ICSD.

The board approved the 2015-2016 Independence Teachers’ Association Master Contract for the upcoming school year.  The settlement for the total package increase was 2.87%.

Under new business, the board approved several contracts including: Virtual Reality Educations Pathfinders Course for Elective Credit for the 2015-2016, Agreement for Food Services Operations,  Statewide 4 Year Old Voluntary Preschool Contract between ICSD and Wee Care, Statewide 4 Year Old Voluntary Preschool Contract between ICSD and St. Johns, Statewide 4 Year Old Voluntary Preschool Contract between ICSD and Kidsville, Tri-County Contract Services Renewal Agreement for 2015-2016, Title 1 Statement of Agreement for 2015-2016, Title 1 Compact for 2015-2016, Camp Ewalu Ropes Challenge Course Contract for 2015, Travel Request Form, , Approve Bullying/Harassment Prevention Goals for 2015-2016, Approve Student Learning Goals for 2015-2016, Approve Special Education Plan for 2015-2016.

For more information on School Board meetings, please visit the School Board Minutes page on the ICSD website.


Media Contact
Fusion Forward