Independence FFA Chapter Members Attend National FFA Convention

On October 23rd, 14 members of the Independence FFA Chapter departed for Indianapolis to attend the National FFA Convention. They attended three days of the convention. Throughout these days, members attended workshops on world hunger, leadership, mass media, and agriculture careers. They also attended opening session with keynote speaker Laila Ali. Time was also spent going through the expo where  different businesses, colleges, and organizations gave out goodies and information. Not only was this an educational trip, but a great opportunity for chapter bonding. Members came back with many new ideas to improve the chapter, and are excited to implement these within it.

At the 90th National FFA Convention, Independence had its first American Degree recipient, Haylee Lau. To receive the American FFA Degree, members have to demonstrate the highest commitment to FFA and make significant accomplishments in their Supervised Agricultural Experience. Haylee’s SAE started in September of 2012 while operating her family garden and landscaping. While interning with a landscaping business, she experimented using different garden designs to maximize yields of crops in her family garden. Upon graduating in May of 2016, Haylee received a job with the landscaping business she had previously interned with.

American FFA Degree Recipient Haylee Lau with her mom Margie Lau.

Independence FFA members stand in front of Banker’s Life Fieldhouse after Opening Session. (L to R front row) Carson Frye, Carter Nolan, Megan Corkery, Jaimee Rowland, Delaney Martin, Sophie Bertelli, and Greta Aldrich. (L to R second row) Peighton Prusator, Jaden Schwarting, and Ellie Nabholz. (L to R third row) Kenzie Fischels, Joe Kaiser, Ryan Thompson, and Jarret Orr.

Memeber toured Fair Oaks Farm in Indiana. (Front) Peighton Prusator (L to R first row) Delaney Martin, Greta Aldrich, Jaden Schwarting, Sophie Bertelli, and Ellie Nabholz. (L to R second row) Megan Corkery, Jaimee Rowland, Joe Kaiser, Carter Nolan, Carson Frye, Jarret Orr, Ryan Thompson, and Kenzie Fischels.