Independence FFA Chapter Members Attend National FFA Convention

On October 23rd, 14 members of the Independence FFA Chapter departed for Indianapolis, IN to attend the National FFA Convention. They attended three days of the convention. Throughout these days, members attended the Blue Room where FFA members were able to speak to CEO’s and entrepreneurs and learn about the future of agriculture. Time was also spent going through the career and college expo where different businesses, colleges, and organizations provided promotional materials and information to FFA members. Not only was this an educational trip, but a great opportunity for chapter bonding. Members came back with many new ideas to improve the chapter, and are excited to implement these ideas.

At the 91th National FFA Convention, Independence had two American Degree recipient, Matt Bolton and Leah Rosauer. To receive the American FFA Degree, members have to demonstrate the highest commitment to FFA and make significant accomplishments in their Supervised Agricultural Experience.  The Independence FFA chapter was also recognized in the National Chapter Award area as a 2-Star Chapter, only the top 10 percent of chapters from each state reach nationals in this area. The Veterinary Science CDE team placed 39th with a bronze rating at the national level. This was first CDE to compete at the National level for the Independence FFA Chapter.


Members in front of museum

Members toured the Chicago Museum of Science and Industry. (R to L first row) Kenzie Fischels, Avery Hanaway, Delaney Martin, Jaden Schwarting, and Greta Aldrich (L to R second row) Megan Corkery, Sydney Graham, Ellie Nabholz, Jaimee Rowland, Cater Nolan, Carson Frye, Keegan Zimmerly, Sam Sill, Hannah Johnson


Vet science FFA team

Independence Vet Science Team members: (R to L) Keegan Zimmerly, Avery Hanaway, Jaimee Rowland, and Megan Corkery


group photo at National Convention

Independence FFA members visited the career and college expo at National FFA Convention. (Backrow R to L): Ellie Nabholz, Carson Frye, Sam Sill, Kenzie Fischels, Jaden Schwarting, Carter Nolan, Keegan Zimmerly, and Michael Haden (Advisor)
(Frontrow R to L): Sydney Graham, Megan Corkery, Jaimee Rowland, Hannah Johnson, Delaney Martin, Greta Aldrich, and Avery Hanaway


members with degree

American Degree Recipients (R to L) Leah Rosauer and Matt Bolton


Jaimee Rowland
Independence FFA Reporter