Kim Hansen Receives Better Boardmanship Award

November 30, 2017, (Independence) The Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) presented the 2016-2017 annual Better Boardsmanship Awards on November 16thduring the IASB Convention at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines. Independence Community School District Board Member Kim Hansen was one of this year’s recipients.

Board Member Kim Hansen Receives Better Boardmanship Award

Board Member Kim Hansen Receives Better Boardmanship Award


The awards are given each year to individual board members, board teams, and administrators who dedicate time and work to learning, advocacy, leadership, and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must earn credit toward these awards.

Kim Hansen, Independence School Board Member, received this Individual Achievement Award at this year’s IASB Convention. A collection of events, leadership roles, and service opportunities are offered for which IASB gives credit towards earning the Individual Award. To receive this award, Kim had to accumulate 125 credits in one year. 85 of those credits were to be earned in the formal learning category.

Fifty seven board members received the Individual Achievement Award from the following school and AEA boards:

Ballard, Belmond-Klemme, Boone, Central Rivers AEA, Charles City, Colfax-Mingo, Colo-Nesco    Decorah,,  East Mills, Galva-Holstein,  Gilmore City-Bradgate, Glenwood, Independence, Iowa City, Johnston, LeMars, Marshalltown,  Muscatine, Muscatine, New Hampton, New London, Oskaloosa, Sheldon, Sibley-Ocheyedan, Sioux Center,  Sioux City, Solon, United, Waverly-Shellrock, West Des Moines

Superintendent Russell Reiter states: “This award recognizes and acknowledges the extensive time and effort Kim put in to expand her knowledge and skills for better board governance. She is to be truly commended for putting in this extra time to enhance her work as a school board member.”

For more information about the Independence Community School District Board of Education, visit the district website at or call 319-334-7400.


Media Contact
Fusion Forward